11 new clouds for 2017

There are 10 basic clouds as identified by NWS: Cirrus (Ci), Cirrocumulus (Cc), Cirrostratus (Cs), Altocumulus (Ac), Altostratus (As), Nimbostratus (Ns), Cumulus (Cu), Stratocumulus (Sc), Stratus (St), and Cumulonimbus (Cb). (More info can be found here).

However in 2017, 11 more were added: Volutus, Asperitas, Fluctus, Cavum, Flumen, Cataractagenitus, Flammagenitus, Homogenitus, Silvagenitus, Cauda, and Murus.

I wonder how this one was classified.


More info on all the clouds you’d ever want can be found here – thanks NWS.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.